Why do I need to renew DeleteMe?

DeleteMeHow-TosPrivacy

Written by:

Your information is always re-populating and reappearing on Spokeo, White Pages, Been Verified, Intelius. Renew DeleteMe.

how_deleteMe_works_renew deleteme

 

Back in 2012, we published an article about why our DeleteMe service is a recurring subscription, why it’s recommended that you always renew DeleteMe, and it’s not simply a 1-time thing. Now it’s 2018, there’s more data brokers and people search websites, and your personal information is being made public on more websites than ever before.

So, why do you need to renew DeleteMe? Why is DeleteMe a recurring subscription service? The answer is simple: your personal information is constantly being re-populated on all of the major data broker websites.

data brokers ranked renew deleteme

Information that Reappears on Data Broker websites: A Comparison

 

BeenVerified

BeenVerified is fairly transparent about how your information is repopulated on their website, although there’s no indication about how frequently the information may reappear:

When I Opt Out, Will Data About Me Ever Reappear on BeenVerified?

Once your opt-out has been processed, we will instruct our data partners not to return the record you opted out in future People Search results. At this time, we only provide an opt-out for our People Search service. Therefore, it is possible that your name might appear in search results for the other search services available through BeenVerified even after you opt out of People Search.

Further, as described above, there may be times when one of our data partners provides us with a new record about you that is different enough from your existing, opted out record that we cannot match this new record to the existing record, and therefore cannot conclusively opt out the new record. Accordingly, if you have previously opted out and see a new record about you appear in our People Search results, please contact us at privacy@beenverified.com and we will be happy to help you remove that record as well.

BeenVerified Removal Timeline: 24 hours

How Long Does it Take for My Record to Be Removed?

Once you receive our email confirming that we have processed your opt-out request, your request will be reflected in our People Search results the next time our server refreshes. In most cases this will take 24 hours to take effect and then we encourage you to check for yourself.

 

Spokeo

Spokeo is less open than BeenVerified about how information listings may be re-populated on their site, and they make it clear that this is likely happening on a broad scale within their system:

When you choose to opt out of Spokeo, we place a permanent flag on your listing so that it does not ever reappear on Spokeo.com. We are constantly receiving new and updated listings, and we try very hard to match these new listings to the existing ones and preserve your privacy preference. However, a computer cannot know the difference between “John Smith at 1234 Nowhere Street” and “John Smith at 5678 Somewhere Avenue”, though you may know that you moved. So if a new listing contains your new address, or if there are significant typos which prevent our computers from matching an existing listing, you will see a new listing for your name. We are constantly improving our matching algorithms in order to maintain your privacy. Spokeo guarantees that our opt out policy is among the best on the Internet.

Spokeo Removal Timeline: 1 business day

 

To remove your listing:

  1. Locate the individual listing to remove (for name listings, please select the state, city, then exact profile match)
  2. Copy the URL (the URL can be found on the top of your browser and should look something like “http://www.spokeo.com/Smith-
  3. Sample/Houston/TX/p12345678″)
  4. Go to www.spokeo.com/optout
  5. Paste the URL
  6. Provide your email address (this acts as a verification process for the confirmation to be sent to your Inbox) and Captcha Code (Image Verification Code)
  7. Check your Inbox for the confirmation email, and click on the link on the bottom to complete the removal process.
  8. The directory listing will become flagged and will be removed within 1 business day.

 

Intelius

Similar to BeenVerified, Intelius is somewhat open about how information can reappear on their site, again making it seem like this is happening on a large scale:

Is removal permanent?
Once we have processed your request, your listing will be removed from our site. However, please keep in mind that we receive regular public records updates from our data partners and that it is possible our data partners may provide us with a new record about you that is different enough from your existing record (such as a variation of your name, combinations of records, and/or different addresses) that it may again appear on our site. If this happens, you can simply follow the same process to request removal of the new listing.

What if i have more than one listing?
We work hard to make sure there’s only one listing for each individual. If you see more than one likely result, consider whether it could be for someone else with the same name.

Start by selecting the result that contains the most relevant information. Once it’s been removed, check back with us. If you still see a record containing details that are specific to you, you can submit and additional request.

Intelius Removal Timeline: ~ 72 hours

 

Data Brokers like BeenVerified, Spokeo, Intelius and White Pages Haven’t Always Complied with Opt Outs

In 2012, we reported BeenVerified to the FTC after their failures to comply with their own opt-out processes. Essentially, they weren’t actually removing personal information listings like they were claiming to do so.

Because information is constantly repopulating on these data broker websites, it’s extremely difficult for individuals to stay on top of their own private data across each one of the major data broker websites. That said, data brokers are able to continue to compile and publicize personal information listings without any sort of consequence.

DeleteMe Regularly Monitors Your Personal Information

DeleteMe by Abine is a hands-free subscription service that will monitor your personal information listings on a quarterly basis. Every three months, we perform searches for your information across the leading data broker websites, removing everything that we find, and making sure it stays gone.

Here’s how DeleteMe works:

how_deleteMe_works_renew deleteme

 

About Abine

Abine, Inc. is The Online Privacy Company. Founded in 2009 by MIT engineers and financial experts, Abine’s mission is to provide easy-to-use online privacy tools and services to everybody who wants them. Abine’s tools are built for consumers to help them control the personal information companies, third parties, and other people see about them online.

Blur by Abine is the only password manager and digital wallet that also blocks trackers, and helps users remain private online by providing ‘Masked’ information whenever companies are asking for personal information.

DeleteMe by Abine is a hands-free subscription service that removes personal information from public online databases, data brokers, and people search websites.

Abine’s solutions have been trusted by over 25 million people worldwide.

 

2 Replies to “Why do I need to renew DeleteMe?”

  1. Rowena Warshawsky says:

    If you can’t remove my personal info on the internet what guarantee do I have by continuing my subscription with ABINE when my name keeps popping on the websearch. Will you at least work with me on how to remove my information on Goggle. Bing. Aol. Ask. Yahoo. search engine. or from the websites?

  2. Sometimes subscription is required for accessing some of the function in a software or in a site. So if you are already a subscriber of the software or the site you need to renew it for getting some extra privilege. Delete Me is one among those function that cannot be performed if you are not a member.

Leave a Reply