How to remove yourself from BeenVerified.com

You probably haven’t heard of people search websites, but they know a whole lot about you.  Also called “data brokers,” these websites make a business of collecting, publicly sharing, and selling your personal information on the Internet. In this post, I’ll show you how to delete personal information from one of the largest people search databases on the web: BeenVerified.com.

I’m Maggie; I help run our DeleteMe service, which takes the hard work out of removing personal data from the web, and I’ve become an expert on how to ensure your private info stays private.

Follow these step-by-step instructions to remove your personal info from BeenVerified:

1.  Go to BeenVerified.com and enter your full name, and the state your currently live in, in the search box. Click “Search.”

2.  BeenVerified will show you the results page based on what you searched for. If you receive a large number of results, try entering your current city or age to refine the search. If the name and state combination you entered shows no results, enter another state you’ve lived in, and try searching again.

Edit search fields on the left side of this page.

3.  Once you’ve located your results, open up a new window and log in to your email account.

4.  Create a new email to be sent to support@beenverified.com, with the subject line: “Opt Out Request.” BeenVerified requires you to include the following information in the body of your email: Full name, aliases, current and previous addresses, date of birth, age, listed relatives.

Make sure to include ALL information found in the listing, even if it’s inaccurate. Your removal request could be denied if it does not include all information associated with your BeenVerified directory listing.

Your email should look something like this.

5.   Send email. You’ll receive an automated response to your customer support inquiry, followed up by a confirmation that the listing will be removed in 7-10 days.

6.  Success! Your information will be gone from BeenVerified’s database in about one week.

Be sure to go back and check for your information periodically.  BeenVerified is always collecting new public records and information about you, and inevitably your name will pop back up on their website at some point.

Sound like too much work? Check out our DeleteMe service, which removes personal information from BeenVerified along with 17 other people search sites, and we’ll do it all for you!




23 comments shared on this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Comment